19 Comments

I agree with those who say unauthorized sales of their work isn't that big of a deal as long as the work is attributed to the rightful author. Those sales can serve a marketing purpose. However, when others put their name on my work and pass it off as their own, I receive no benefit. That is unacceptable, but there is nothing I can do about it.

Expand full comment

I have a Google alert set up for when my name is mentioned in the internet. Ninety percent of the time it's because somebody has posted a pirated copy of one of my books. It's upsetting and I care, but it's too difficult to do anything about.

Expand full comment

I guess I’m in the “I don’t sell enough of my writing for it to matter very much” camp. So I guess it probably wouldn’t bother me very much as long as I was given attribution.

Expand full comment

Let them eat cake! Unless they are making six figures selling my books as if they were theirs, I have no intention to play whack a mole! In most cases, the person copying the work isn’t earning any money and it’s clear who the real author is. So there’s no real harm done.

Though I’m outraged on behalf of the Beatles (and Taylor Swift and anyone else attempting to buy their masters from the conglomerates.) It would definitely make me think twice before signing a record deal, knowing that some large corporation would own my work forever.

Expand full comment

This is a sensitive issue. As an artist who had artwork stolen many times, well, I'm still the starving artist so-to-speak. The most outrageous encounter was when someone bragged they wanted to save some money ($20 in mid 80s!) so they got someone to copy my posters! I was speechless at his total lack of ethics and insensitivity. Visual artists have struggled with this for ages as well as musicians. The composer to Yes, we have no bananas..." was taken to court because the beginning of the music sounded like the opening bars to Handel's "Hallelujah Chorus." Of course it didn't stand because of all the differences between the two songs. They say "Imitation is the highest form of flattery" but does it pay bills? Personally, life is too short to let the thief waste my time and energy. It's my reputation where I draw the line.

Expand full comment

I've known the copyright fanatics involved in tradpub, especially those who attack fanfiction. That led to an estrangement between me and a friend over my reading of fanfiction (and writing it to dig myself out of a bad case of writer's block). She wasn't a writer but her husband was, and well, this was the '90s. He not only wrote his own stuff but work-for-hire for several major media properties and they were both raging on the subject. Now, I have more cynical suspicions that it was fear of losing the (then significant) work-for-hire to fanfiction, but then? Their vehemence really set me aback, especially considering some of their alleged political leanings.

As far as I'm concerned, if someone writes fanfic about your work, it means you've moved them enough that they make up stories about your characters. That they daydream about your characters. That your creation is strong enough to make them care.

The pirates? These days, a lot of those sites serve as virus distribution sites. Or else they're covering for locations where buying those books are difficult. Yeah, there's always going to be the ripoff sorts, but they're also the sorts who might shoplift your book at a sales venue (surprisingly, I have had books shoplifted from a sales table at a craft fair). I tried to stay on top of it a while back with DCMA notices, then gave it up because it ended up being worthless. Does it screw things up occasionally, especially with Amazon? So far, I've not gotten bitten by that, but I've heard stories from others who have experienced problems.

Expand full comment

I’m with T Van Santana — not enough sales to be anything but thrilled by the extra attention. (Sales in this case being for Deb’s two kids books. Available on Amazon, search for “Caitlyn’s Adventure” or “Debra Tanguy Herlocker”.) [we can do plugs here, yes? 🙃]

OTOH we also had Deb’s books show up on a pirate website for books, which I wrote about: https://jherlocker.medium.com/conversation-with-my-wife-27-fe93f559dd92

Which is really weird, in that we have electronic versions of her books you can read on her website, www.caitlynsadventure.com, because we figure our market (if I can use that term without seeming overly pompous) is people who buy the physical book so they can show the drawings to kids as they read, the kid finds the ladybug in the drawing, and so on. I posted e-versions so that parents can read through the book before buying. Don’t know that anyone actually has, but it might happen. My point being, pirated versions of her books online doesn’t actually hurt us.

OTOOH, Roz Warren, who has written and SOLD many more books than we ever will, has found many of her old books on pirate sites. Roz doesn’t care. “They're all out of print, so I'm actually fine with it. If pirates are out there reading my humor collections and getting a good laugh, that's okay.”

Expand full comment

My gut instinct is I would be grateful for the extra sales, but then I don't sell many books 😄 so I might feel differently if I did. In any case, so long as there's attribution that it's my work, I would be inclined to be chill about it, depending upon who it was.

Now, I have had my literal words stolen without attribution, and by someone I considered a friend. That stung. I did not like that at all.

Expand full comment