25 Comments

Sherlock Holmes would be entertaining. But some of his habits would make me sneeze. Phineas Fogg would be fun to be. Achilles is an amazing character but too under the thumb of the gods, for my taste. Huckleberry Finn has the spunk that attracts me despite the darkness of his world. The deep understanding of John Le Carre's Alec Leamas from the Spy Who came in from the Cold would be interesting if I could be guaranteed an exit door when things got too tight.

Expand full comment

This week, I would choose Thursday Next from Jasper Fforde's series of the same name. She's so much fun. She's not only a book character, she's a character who literally enters books to fight literary villains. I love her attitude. And who doesn't love to get "Lost in a Good Book?"

Expand full comment

I love this question. I’d like to be Stephen Maturin, one half of the Patrick O’Brian Aubrey-Maturin series. Another week, I might pick his partner Diana. I related to Maturin’s oddness and strangeness. I am captivated by his wit, intelligence, and utter ability to be at home in his own skin even when everyone around him regards him as eccentric. He can cut a hole in a man’s cranium on a ship deck, be a unprepossessing spy, and not know how to swim or climb a rope. He’s sort of an anti-action hero.

Expand full comment

Most main characters have a terrible time, so I'm thinking sidekicks, but not the put-upon kind of sidekick. Flambeau, the reformed jewel thief from Chesterton's Father Brown stories would be a good candidate. Mostly these days though I feel like the old professor in The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe. What do they teach them in these schools?

Expand full comment

Hmmm maybe Peter Pan or Wendy? I’d love to be young and magical and free living on a beautiful island without a care in the world! (But just until all the Captain Hook stuff comes about...)

Expand full comment
Mar 4, 2022Liked by Mark Starlin

Arwen with Aragorn for that one minute. Best on-screen kiss ever!

Expand full comment

I slept on this. I want to be Jeff Winston in Ken Grimwood's novel, "Replay." Jeff travels in time, returning to his younger self on each trip, getting a chance to live his life over again, to do better each lifetime...if he can.

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2022Liked by Mark Starlin

Your suggestion of Frodo made me think of Sam (my choice). I love Sam's optimism and his consistency. But most of all I love his faithful friendship with Frodo.

Expand full comment

Neat question! The first character that came to mind was Bilbo Baggins. If I can leave the story after the company leaves Rivendell, that would be nice though!

Expand full comment