14 Comments

As for old TV, my sister and I took turns holding the television's antenna to enhance the signal.

Expand full comment

Every once in a while we’d go to the video rental store in town for a movie night. I used to love watching the popcorn pop on our stovetop before we started the movie. I can still see the metal bowl clearly in my mind, and how we’d scoop handfuls into our smaller bowls. Good memories! Family game night was always fun, too. 😊

Expand full comment
Mar 17, 2022Liked by Mark Starlin

I grew up in Chicagoland in the 1960s and 70s. We had CBS (channel 2), NBC (ch5), ABC (ch7), WGN (ch9, at that time still a local station), and PBS (ch11). Sometimes ch32, but not usually, since UHF was iffy then. Oh yeah, there was VHF (lower channels, 2-13 [there was no channel 1]) and UHF (ch14+) and they needed different antennas. Antennas, they were these metal things that connected to the TVs, sometimes directly, sometimes through wires that went to weird contraptions on the house roof or attached to towers attached to the side of the house.

Re: popcorn, I learned at a young age that the unpeopled/semi-popped kernels at the bottom of the bowl were edible, but took more effort. Since nobody else in the family liked them, they were always mine.

Expand full comment

I remember Bill Kennedy at the movies. We got the same TV channels as you over the air in Windsor. Memories...

Expand full comment