Mark Starlin Writes!
Mark Starlin Talks!
Nice Evening
16
0:00
-2:39

Nice Evening

Poetry & Music
16


It’s a nice evening for a walk, you say
I agree

City lights sparkle in your eyes
It is hard to imagine you looking more beautiful
Then you smile
I say nothing
I doubt you would hear anything over my heartbeat
I smile back
You take my arm and pull me close

I dream of ways to freeze time
I want to walk this way forever
The sidewalk is a stream of walkers
But I don’t see them

We stop for dinner and sit outside
The food doesn’t matter
We chat about nothing
I am captivated

You feel like getting ice cream
I know a place
Ice cream drips on my shoe as we walk
You laugh

We stop and look at the water
Neither in a hurry
Hand in hand

You were right
It is a nice evening


In 2017 I recorded an album of original jazz songs called My Kind Of Jazz. It was a dream of mine since I was a teen taking guitar lessons. I recorded it on my laptop and played all the instruments. This song is called Nice Evening. I pictured a couple on a date when I wrote it.

You can find the album on all the music platforms. Apple Music, Spotify, iTunes, Amazon Music, Bandcamp, etc.

16 Comments
Mark Starlin Writes!
Mark Starlin Talks!
Narrated fiction by Mark Starlin.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Mark Starlin